Sponsored by

Ian Parry Scholarship for Young Photographers and Photo Students

Posted by on July 10, 2013 | Contests/Events


The August 10 deadline for this year’s Ian Parry Scholarship could mean the opportunity of a lifetime for current full-time photography students and young photographers 24 years of age and under.

The scholarship was initiated by renowned photo editor Aidan Sullivan, currently vice president of photo assignments for Getty Images, UK, in memory of his colleague Parry, a young photojournalist killed while on assignment for the Sunday Times during the 1989 Romanian Revolution. Widely recognized as one of the most important awards available for aspiring documentary photographers and visual journalists, the 2013 scholarships will be judged by Don McCullin, Tom Stoddart, Harriet Logan, Jon Jones and Simon Roberts.

This year’s winner will be announced in early September, during the Visa pour l’Image Festival in Perpignan. The winner will receive a monetary award of £3,500 ($4,487) and their photos will be published in the Sunday Times magazine Spectrum and exhibited at MOTHER, London for two weeks during September 2013. Two commended photographers will also be selected for publication, exhibition and a monetary award of £500 ($640). Both the winner and commended photographers will be automatically added to the list of finalists for the World Press Photo Joop Swart Masterclass in Amsterdam, and all scholarship finalists will be invited to attend a series of free seminars, portfolio reviews and workshops in collaboration with MOTHER, led by industry professionals who support the award.

Says Sullivan of the award, “The Ian Parry Scholarship is not an event where you get a shiny trophy, a cheque, a handshake and then a fond farewell. This is a community comprising of all of the friends of Ian, the majority of who never knew him but have all become part of his legacy.”

Past scholarship winners include Adrian Fussell (2012), Rasel Chowdhury (2011), Sebastian Liste (2010), Maisie Crow (2009), Jonas Bendicksen (2002), Marcus Bleasdale (2000) and Simon Roberts (1998).

All applicants must submit a portfolio of not more than 12 captioned images and a detailed written proposal of a project to be undertaken if selected for the scholarship. Full details for uploading images to the scholarship Web site are available here.